Au Pied de Cochon

Au Pied de Cochon
536 Avenue Duluth E
Montréal, QC

 
This review is about 7 months late, but I still remember it like it was yesterday. My boyfriend at the time had taken me to Mont Tremblant for a skiing trip for my belated Graduation present and Christmas present. On our trip, we stayed in Montreal our first night across the border. I had read many times over on websites that this place was the place to go for great Canadian-French cuisine so I thought this was the perfect place to try my first authentic French meal. Whoa, they were not lying! I’ll admit I did not know really anything about French food prior to this trip so I asked the waitress for her recommendations which she gladly gave in her thick French accent.

We started off with the cromesquis with foie gras appetizer which is basically this tiny pastry thingy filled with hot, liquid foie gras that explodes in your mouth. We also ordered an appetizer of marinated smoked sausages that we just had to try. Next, for our main course we split the infamous “Duck in a Can” entree as well as the Beef tartar with a side of fries cooked in duck fat! The tartar was great but the duck was PHENOMENAL. Even though I am pretty sure I contributed heavily to my LDL count in this one meal, I must say that it is one of the most delicious and mind blowing food experiences I’ve ever had! It has opened me up to the world of French cuisine. I can’t wait to eat here again when I come back for another skiing trip. It was my favorite meal the entire time I was in Canada.

If you’re ever in Montreal, do not miss the opportunity to have a food revelation like I did at this neighborhood gem!

Leave a Reply

